A Web Part or Web Form Control on this Page cannot be displayed or imported. The type is not registered as safe.

Nov 19, 2008 at 9:26 PM
Im new to sharepoint, I downloaded and installed the guidance and followed it until the Upgrading the Tranining Management Application section.  I have an issue with the Custom Web Parts that are shown in the Manager Dashboard, they show an error message that says 
"Web Part Error: A Web Part or Web Form Control on this Page cannot be displayed or imported. The type is not registered as safe."

What might it be? Do I need to keep going with the guide to fix it? I don't know what to do, is it normal at this point of the guidance?

Any help is very much appreciated.  Thanx!
Coordinator
Nov 24, 2008 at 10:23 PM
Edited Nov 24, 2008 at 10:24 PM

Take a look at the <SafeControls> element in the web.config. There should be two <SafeControl> nodes for the Contoso.TrainingMangement assembly:

<

SafeControl Assembly="Contoso.TrainingManagement, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=9f4da00116c38ec5" Namespace="Contoso.TrainingManagement.WebParts" TypeName="*" Safe="True" />

<

SafeControl Assembly="Contoso.TrainingManagement, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=9f4da00116c38ec5" Namespace="Contoso.TrainingManagement.Forms" TypeName="*" Safe="True" />

These nodes are defined in the manifest.xml and should have been added as part of the deployment process, which worries me if they are not there.

If these nodes are there, perhaps the assembly has been compiled with a different snk file which would give you a new PublicKeyToken value.

Nov 28, 2008 at 11:20 PM