Trying to understand unit test with the service locator pattern

Apr 27, 2011 at 3:20 PM

Hi.

I already succesfully implemented the service locator pattern in a webpart project, in my simple example I have to return the number of rows of a list with a given query.  

I followed all code on the CHM file and understood it, tested and it works as expected.

However, (please dont laugh at me), I am not an expert on unit testing.

My interface:

public interface IListsHelper
{
        int GetListRowCount(string listName, string url, string query);
}

My Implementation class.

public int GetListRowCount(string listName, string url, string query)
        {
            using(SPSite site = new SPSite(url))
            {
                using (SPWeb oWebsiteRoot = site.RootWeb)
                {
                    SPList oList = oWebsiteRoot.Lists[listName];
                    SPQuery oQuery = new SPQuery();
                    oQuery.Query = query;
                    SPListItemCollection collListItems = oList.GetItems(oQuery);
                    return collListItems.Count;
                }
            }
        }

The code on the webpart that uses the service locator pattern.

private void GetRowCount()
        {   
            IServiceLocator serviceLocator = SharePointServiceLocator.GetCurrent();

IListsHelper serviceList = serviceLocator.GetInstance<IListsHelper>();

string query = "<Where><Eq><FieldRef Name='Vendedor'/>" +
                    "<Value Type='Text'>Luis</Value></Eq></Where>";

int x = serviceList.GetListRowCount("Sales Marketing", SPContext.Current.Site.Url, query);

}

This worked perfectly, then I tried to do the mock class.  Here is where you shouldnt laugh

1.  What logic should I put inside the method of the mock? I always put return 1, but I have no idea exactly what to do there.

public class MockLists : IListsHelper
    {
        public int GetListRowCount(string listName, string url, string query)
        {
            return 1;
        }